An Evening Poem

santabarbara2

Losing the Only Friend I Ever Knew

If I never see you again
what would it be for you
for me those who
would not believe
my face is better looking than my faith
a man whose life was not what it should be

whose deeds can’t agree
with you
or me
or HE

whose mind
went home long before That old man did
long before the matter that
was the matter with him

hides from those he loves so they can’t see
the struggle
the pain
of this
life

he just can’t see no more
not sore
just tired and confused
to the bone
the mind
golgatha
the place of the skull
where me no see or be
mercy me
grateful for that tree

RFilos2016
Leave a Reply

