An Evening Poem

A Country Surrenders /or/ Slave Remembers

my master he takin’ good care
good care his slaves
we had good shoes
mighty good shoes
had a shoemaker make em
make em just for us he did
we was livin’ twenty miles
twenty miles side of Charleston
that where I was birthed
we had mighty good white folks
far as I remember, mighty good
you know musta been good
after the country surrender
well, after that more move here
none didn’t, didn’t none move
no, they didn’t none leave
more them move on the place
some them say they had bad
bad white folks they says
I don’t know that, no I don’t
we had good white folks
give us shoes, they did
we had good white folks
they don’t never beat us
no, not lest we had it comin’
you know only we had it comin’
my master he let me tote water
he let me go to the barn
I llowed feed this his horses
and he let me tote water
we had mighty good white folks
we did yes we did good they was
to us I know, others I don’t know
most folks don’t know that
when the country surrender
most us, we don’t know we free
whole year go and we don’t know
we free don’t know whole year
after that we stay and work for shares
old folks tell, shares third, fourth
good white folks we had they say
let us work for shares they did
that’s what I know good white folks

read author notes please

Leave a Reply

